• nssd112 co-interim superintendents of schools

    You can contact both of the NSSD112 Co-Interim Superintendents at:




       Edward Rafferty


    ed rafferty portrait

    Mr. Rafferty spent his entire 37-year career in Schaumburg Community Consolidated School District 54, the largest elementary school district in Illinois. He began his career as a teacher of students with behavior disorders and learning disabilities. He went on to become a Special Services Coordinator, Director, and then Assistant Superintendent of Special Services in 1994. In 2004, Mr. Rafferty became Schaumburg’s Superintendent of Schools and served in that capacity until his retirement in 2013. Most recently, he completed a successful term as an interim superintendent in Crystal Lake Elementary School District 47.


    During his tenure, a $104 million building renovation and facilities upgrade project was completed and the district became debt-free. District 54 ranked in the top 8% of Illinois school districts due the high levels of student achievement on local, state and national assessments. The district has been nationally recognized for its Spanish and Japanese Dual Language Programs, its Chinese Immersion Program and as a district model for the implementation of Professional Learning Communities.   In 2013, the District 54 Administration Center was renamed in his honor as the Rafferty Administration Center.   


    Mr. Rafferty has served on many community and educational organizations including President of Special Olympics Illinois, the Arts Alliance of Illinois Education Advisory Committee, the Illinois State Board of Education Bilingual Advisory Committee, and the Illinois Attorney General Special Education Committee.   In addition to being recognized as the Illinois State Superintendent of the Year (2010) his others honors  include the School Business Officials Presidential Award (2009) and the “Those Who Excel” Education Award (2012), among other honors.


    Comments (-1)
  •    Dr. Jane Westerhold

    Dr. Jane Westerhold Dr. Westerhold has been an educator for more than 39 years. She began her career in Edwardsville Unit School District 7, where she served as a teacher, assistant principal, principal, and superintendent intern. Dr. Westerhold relocated in 1991 to the Chicago area where she served as a principal and a director in Schaumburg School District 54. She also served as the Director of Curriculum and Instruction in Community Unit School District 118 and the Assistant Superintendent for Educational Services in Valley View Community Unit School District 365U.


    In 2005, she became Superintendent of Community Consolidated School District 62, serving Des Plaines and unincorporated Rosemont, until her retirement in 2016. One of her many major accomplishments includes overseeing the successful completion of the District 62 Master Plan that included a $109 million school facilities upgrade and the opening of a new early learning center, which was named in her honor in 2015 as the Jane L. Westerhold Early Learning Center. Dr. Westerhold is also passionate about preparing students to be globally competitive, 21st Century citizens and became the driving force behind the digital transformation in teaching and learning in School District 62 in order to provide dynamic learning opportunities for all students.


    Dr. Westerhold has served many community and educational organizations including as a Governing Board Member, Treasurer, and President for the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA). She also served on other organizations such as the American Association of School Administrators Governing Board, Women’s Network of School Administrators Board, the National Center for Research and Technology Board, and Suburban School Superintendents Association. In addition to being named Illinois Superintendent of the Year in 2013, her other honors include the Illinois “Those Who Excel” Award of Excellence (2013), the School Business Officials Presidential Award (2015) and the Illinois National School Public Relations Association Distinguished Service Award (2013). In 2014, she was inducted into the Century Club 100, a national honorary group that includes two superintendents per state.
    Comments (-1)